This time of year is always so beautiful in our area, with scenic green landscapes. It seems like only a few weeks before the hills start to dry out and turn brown! So, I decided to spend a few hours on a weekend morning, taking in a really fun and twisty drive, while capturing a few photos along the way.

The route is a familiar one – from my place near Boise, out through the farmlands toward Cambridge. Then the twisty bits begin, along Hwy 71 down to Brownlee Reservoir and the Snake River along the border between Idaho and Oregon. Then, back along a winding creek on the wonderfully curvy Hwy 86 to Baker City. Then I’d jump on the freeway and head home. I wish I’d had a bit more time to extend further south and avoid the freeway, but not this time.

As I’d hoped, there was hardly anyone out on the roads, so I was able to pretty much fly low. It made for some thrilling and fantastic driving, in this magnificent red machine.

It was so nice to see the water level so high in the reservoir, after the nicely snowy winter we had.

After passing the dam (up toward the top of that photo just above), you cross a short bridge over the Snake River, and then you’re in Oregon, looking back across to Idaho.

I continued on toward Baker City, and stopped at a couple of favorite photo spots.

A pretty perfect day, for scenery and photos, and for a sporty drive. Very thankful!

Leave a comment