bwhip.com

bwhip's (and latebraker.com) photos and adventures

My favorite trackdays of the year

In 2007, 2008, and 2009 I made the long drive to Michigan for the motorcycleaddicts.org (MCADX) trackdays at Grattan Raceway. The best trackday events ever! Basically 40 or so good friends from all over the country and Canada, taking over the track for a few days for a private event, where everyone has a blast on the track, enjoys barbecues together, swaps bikes, and enjoys being together. So much fun!

I had to miss the event in 2010 and 2011 due to work getting in the way, and in 2012 I attempted to go, only to have our stupid RV break down in Nebraska while driving to Michigan from Idaho.

So, this year I was determined to make it back. No chance I was going to risk driving the RV back there again. I drove my new pickup instead, and it worked perfectly. I knew I was going to take the Triumph 675, but just a few days beforehand I decided it would be fun to take the Multistrada along as well. I’m glad I did! It was really fun on the track, worked great for a few two-up rides we gave, and I was able to give a bunch of my friends the opportunity to go for a spin on the track with it. They were all blown away by how great the bike is!

 

The Triumph was fantastic as well. I had it out on track briefly at Miller last month, but this was a three-day event, where I could really spend some time getting a feel for the bike, dialing in the suspension, and getting completely comfortable.

 

 

By the second day, I was beginning to feel completely “at one” with the 675. I was no longer constantly worried about whether the tires were (or weren’t) quite gripping, but could just relax and ride as fast as I wanted to. It was great to feel like the old bwhip again! 🙂

 

One of my favorite parts of the event every year, is the ability to swap bikes with my friends, many of whom have some incredible, fun, and rare bikes. A couple of highlights this year were riding Dave’s RC30:

 

…and Brian’s RVF400:

 

Incredibly fun bikes that handled so well, and sounded just fantastic!

Another big highlight was doing tons of laps with my favorite track riding buddy in the world, Etienne. We spent one session racing around bar-to-bar, putting on a little show for the photographers. 🙂

 

 

There aren’t many people in the world that I would trust to ride with like that, but Etienne is a brilliant rider, and trusted friend like no other.

 

Lots of people can’t believe it could possibly be worth driving 28 hours each way, along with the time and expense, to go ride a few trackdays at Grattan. Normally I’d agree – but this event is all about the people! Some of my best friends in the world.

I also want to take a moment to honor our dearly departed friend who was the main force behind keeping this event going over the years – Frank Fisher. We will miss you, Frank.

Finally, I want to say thanks so much to the wonderful photographers from the event – my friends Christopher Kezer and Terry Zorich. Great work, guys!

I can’t wait for next year!

One Response to “My favorite trackdays of the year”

Leave a Reply

